Is This WMATA Email Satisfactory?

Remember last week’s bus stop blow by, when a Metrobus driver dared to skip my bus stop, and I chased him down in a taxi?

Well today I received this somehow unfulfilling email from WMATA Customer Service:

Dear Mr. Vota:

Thank you for your recent email regarding the problems that you experienced when the S4 Metrobus driver failed to stop for you. We realize that our customers expect reliable, courteous bus service, and we are sorry that this operator did not deliver that level of service.

The information you have provided will help us to identify the driver so that we can take proper disciplinary action. The driver will be interviewed and re instructed to service each bus stop along the route. Safe and courteous service is the responsibility of every employee, and Metro will not tolerate conduct that falls short of that standard.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate your bringing this incident to our attention and we thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely,
Office of Customer Relations
Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority

Thankfully, its not a form letter, they actually took the time to write about my specific incident, but the bus driver intervention doesn’t feel like its enough.

I think having him be missed by a bus (or two), preferably when he’s running late for a date and it’s raining, would be more educational. What do you think?

5 Comments so far

  1. Soulfull (unregistered) on September 20th, 2006 @ 11:43 am

    Yup, I agree, that email seems a bit dry…


  2. busdriverre-education (unregistered) on September 20th, 2006 @ 12:01 pm

    You should ask if you can conduct the “re-instruction.” It’s only fair.


  3. S4 Bus Driver (unregistered) on September 20th, 2006 @ 2:00 pm

    Wait, I’m supposed to stop at EVERY bus stop? Why does WMATA make this so hard. I thought I only had to make the stops when I felt like it or saw one of my friends. I really hope this reinstructing only takes a few days.


  4. Robis (unregistered) on September 20th, 2006 @ 2:23 pm

    Um, Wayan, I hate to shatter your hopeful illusion here, but that IS a form letter. I got that exact letter, word for word, the last time I complained. The only difference was that the bus was a 54 instead of an S2. And that small difference can be easily done by pulling the bus number out of your complaint and dropping it into the form.

    So, no, I would say that letter is not satisfactory. It’s mostly unsatisfactory because Metro is not willing to spend a minimal amount of time writing you a personalized letter—and before anyone remarks that it wouldn’t be cost effective to do so, I’ll preclude such a comment by redirecting it: it isn’t cost effective for employees to be as lacking in customer service as they are. Having to spend the time and money to personally apologize would certainly make that alot clearer to Metro.


  5. wayan (unregistered) on September 20th, 2006 @ 2:30 pm

    Robis – say it ain’t so! Please post your email in comments so we can all see the form letter-ness of their replies.



Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.