DC Singles – Scary

Let’s say you want to try out this whole Internet dating thing. That you’re a little overwhelmed by Match.com and the likes of DCDomme. Then, if you were the shy but somewhat adventurous type, would you, by chance, pick your dating site by cardboard posters stuck in the ground, ala campaign posters?

I can see that in a political town like DC this could make some sense, but really? If the folks are too skittish, DC Singles, you actually think they’ll join your site if they see some street-side sign?

And wait until they check out your site – well if they don’t go to DCSingles.com by mistake that is. If they make it to the http://www.dcsingles.org/ they’ll be greeted by a long form to fill out.

A form that asks for an Evening Phone, a Daytime Phone, and the question: “What is the best time for us to contact you?” Contact me? Wait; is this a personal site or a telemarketing site? And why does a quick Google search bring up 174 other websites just like this one. You’re not helping me “Meet Verified Local Singles Now” that way!

No, everything about your site makes me think its cheap and sleazy – akin to Joe’s Fly-By-Night Telemarketing Business, Inc. And I’m not the only one creeped out either. I wonder if they’re any realtion to that sneaky Columbia Heights News?

7 Comments so far

  1. Stacey (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2006 @ 3:16 pm

    I’ve seen these ALL over the place. But, they are sneaky little devils with their targeting. Out in Tyson’s the sign says “Fairfax Singles,” and the like in other places.

    And, to my huge surprise, when I was in Michigan a month ago they have these signs there as well, specific to the town they are in.

    They are invading.

  2. Jason (unregistered) on January 24th, 2006 @ 3:43 am

    Yup, I’ve seen Fairfax, Alexandria and DC ones. I would *love* to catch one of those guys putting one up and ask him some questions or have him followed. This is just a scam to collect information and should be shut down. >:(

  3. Don (unregistered) on January 24th, 2006 @ 10:15 am

    Maybe it’s a varient on the Herbalife (lose weight!) multi-level marketing scam, which you also see signs for all over.

  4. Meredith (unregistered) on January 24th, 2006 @ 10:42 am

    I’ve seen those in Vienna (quite new), Fairfax (recently), and Columbia (a while ago). They are indeed everywhere. :P

  5. wayan (unregistered) on January 24th, 2006 @ 11:10 am

    Check out the Google search link in the original post. DC Singles uses the exact same language as 174+ other “Singles” websites, including choice ones like kansaschristiansingles.com or backoftheyardssingles.com and my favoite: txcreditrepair.com

  6. Jenny (unregistered) on February 7th, 2006 @ 11:53 am

    I realized that these sites were not even online dating sites, except for one which was actually a full online dating site called DMVsingles.com
    Not bad though

  7. Don (unregistered) on February 7th, 2006 @ 5:14 pm

    Is that only open to Department of Motor Vehicles employees?

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.